Yesterday I taught a taster workshop which included a short performance at the end for a local community women’s group. They are a really lovely bunch of ladies who made me laugh so much. Time just flew when I was with them, they were a delight to be with – funny, extremely complimentary towards me and willing to give the dance a try in spite of stiff joints. I stayed chatting with them afterwards, having a giggle before I realised the time and had to shoot off.

One of the nicest things about it was that it was repeat business. They had asked me to come and do the same thing around about the same time last year. For me, that is one of the best compliments as an instructor and performer; to have clients that want you to come back.

It’s got me thinking about how repeat business works, or doesn’t, in the bellydance performance and/or workshop ‘market’. Many of the events I’ve been asked to perform, or do workshops at are special events – significant wedding anniversaries, hen nights, and wedding receptions, for example. With these sorts of events you’re unlikely to have a direct repetition of the event. The best you can hope for, perhaps, is a guest at the event who decides they’d like something similar if/when they are in the same position. So it seems to me, then, that repeat business is an unusual occurrence, and it’s something that I am taking the time to treasure.

Have a good day, and I’ll hopefully see some of you at the hafla this Thursday! I’ll be performing to a piece of music that I love, but think is a little bit unconventional for a bellydance performance. Wish me luck!

