Looking after yourself is incredibly important in general but particularly in professional endeavours where you give a lot of yourself (teaching, counselling, dancing are the three that I am most familiar with).  It’s important to remember, if this doesn’t come naturally to you (as it is with me) that if you don’t take care of yourself you will be of much less use to others – be you helping, teaching or entertaining them.  Even outside of professional endeavours I find that I am typically more tolerant, kind to others and fun to be around when I have been kind to myself.

And in this vein I class regular massage as part of my self-care.  It provides both a form of physical therapy for my body and another kind of ‘therapy’ for me.  I would urge you to try massage, if you haven’t already.  There are many different types with a back, neck and shoulder massage being an excellent type of massage to try out.

I tend to opt for full body massages when I get the chance, which is just what I did today.  A new beauty spa called Inner (city) Sanctum has opened up on Leith Walk.  I like supporting local business where practical and really wanted a massage, so I decided to give it a try.  I was not disappointed.

The proprietor and therapist, Thursa, has a passion for her work and believes in “putting the glamour back into beauty”.  The spa is unique.   The walls are decorated with Varna prints (which Thursa herself resembles with her glamorous hair, make-up and attire), the background music playing is her own mix which ranged from “Unforgettable”  by Nat King Cole to “Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad” by Moby. To be clear, this is not a spa adorned with lotus flowers, pan-pipes playing in the background and staffed by vaguely anonymous tunic-wearing therapists.  This is Thursa’s place, inspired by 1940’s glamour, and it is wonderful.

Her prices are quite reasonable with a 1 hour full body massage (including hands, feet and face) only costing £40. You can find the full list of services and prices here. It’s also at a good location, directly behind a bus stop that the 7, 10, 12, 14, 16, 22, 25 & 49 (Lothian  Buses) all stop at on their way down Leith Walk, away from the city centre. Thursa herself is polite, charming and accomplished.  She took on board the areas of my body I said I felt needed special attention and really worked the kinks out.  I highly recommend Thursa and her spa.

Below is one of the Varga pin-ups in the therapy room I was in:

And here’s “Unforgettable” by Nat King Cole. Enjoy!

