From time to time I help out Hilary Thacker and work in her bellydance shop.  Tomorrow, from 10am to 2pm, is one of those times.  It’s my first day working in the new shop – she moved from George IV Bridge to 297 The Royal Mile, Canongate, at the start of December.  The new shop is so much nicer than the old one, it feels much more like what one images a souk turned into a shop to be like – stuff all over the place, treasures on shelves scattered throughout the place, clothing and jewellery aplenty to pour through – tribal and cabaret.

This is the new shop front:

Hilary herself has been teaching the lovely folk of Edinburgh to bellydance for years now.  Most of the dancers on the scene here have been to at least one term of classes with her at some point, I took several.  She’s an Edinburgh institution.  The style of dance she teaches and performs is generally referred to as ‘Classic Egyptian’.  Here’s a clip of her dancing:

She’s also produced instructional DVDs for beginners, intermediates and advanced students and through these is known in America (I had a teacher I went to over there exclaim “Hilary Thacker?!?” when I told her Hilary had been my teacher :)).

So, if you’re in Edinburgh tomorrow, and can spare the time, pop in and say hi!

